top of page

Query Statistics

Number of Queries: 6

Requests: 1

Rejections: 1

No Response (Yet?): 4

VALENTINE'S SPECIAL: The "Yes Moment"


As I reflected on today's celebrations, my thoughts began to drift to what I call a "Yes Moment." A Yes Moment is an occasion that causes a thrill of elation from acceptance. For example, an unexpected job promotion or a marriage proposal.

The more that I thought about it, the more that I considered that a Yes Moment cannot be forced. It has to happen organically, or that all too consuming thrill of elation is forfeit. This is true in both literature, film, and reality. When writing a Yes Moment scene, the feature of surprise is essential for both the character and the audience. Removing the element of surprise causes expectations to build prior to the moment itself. The element of surprise removes the potential obstacles of the recipient building expectations or succumbing to anxiety. Both of these either take away from or completely remove the thrill of elation.

Where did these thoughts stem from?

My Yes Moment was taken from me.

They meant well, I suppose. At the very least there were no ill intentions.

I began to be suspicious when I discovered that my long-term boyfriend and my mother were going out to lunch together. Considering that he rarely even texts her, it was a strange occurrence. Then, today (Valentine's Day) we were summoned to my god-mother's house. Yes, summoned. This one isn't necessarily strange, it actually happens quite often. Also, my sister had a Valentine's gift for me, which was the reason we were sent for. So, halfway through what was supposed to be a short visit, my god-mother popped open a bottle of vintage cabernet and started planning my wedding. In front of my boyfriend. Literally, my family has refused to talk shop until there's a ring on my finger, and there she is pulling out color swatches.

I write FANTASY and I couldn't make this up. Nobody ever told me specifically, but I like to think that I'm not stupid. I'm sure, dear reader, that by now you have inevitably come to the same conclusion as I.

Please note that the reason I say Yes Moment is specifically because it references only times when the thrill of elation comes from saying "yes." I absolutely agree that there are some people that prefer to be prepared or for whom it isn't the right moment yet.

For those who do live for those moments though, why take it away from them? Isn't it for these very same thrills that we keep reading and creating? To experience once more that moment of elation or infatuation? Let your characters have their moment. Let your audience have that moment. Let your loved ones have that moment.

Unless it's definitely a "No Moment." Then by all means, support them every step of the way.


bottom of page